Pope Francis’ Presence

Pope Francis

Pope Francis (Jack Gruber, USA Today)

While thousands of Americans caught a glimpse of Pope Francis in person, I was relegated to watching the pope online, but this does not mean that I felt the power of his reach any less. A former colleague posted a video that brought me to tears. The pope’s gesture of calling the child, Sophie Cruz, toward him and blessing her was a simple but powerful act. I saw this gesture repeated at Mass this past Sunday when a Franciscan friar blessed my child during service. I will continue to pray for Pope Francis as he has asked us to, and I hope that he too, can continue to have a meaningful presence in my child’s life. In fact, on the day Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio became Pope Francis in 2013, we found out that we were expecting a child.

Leave a Reply

